Poets logo

Ode to a Pair of New Socks

Thank you Mr. Keats, the 3 Wills, Sam and a host of others

By Ward NorcuttPublished 10 months ago Updated 10 months ago 2 min read
6
Ode to a Pair of New Socks
Photo by Erwans Socks on Unsplash

The morning wakes, and my dreamy eyes recall

My night, as though I were still asleep:

I gamboled ‘oer a polished hall

Of an oaken castle keep,

Thy fabric - steadfast - ever true

About my feet so rapt.

Oh, it only ever could be you

By Morpheus so trapped;

Mine eyes, mine ears, my senses all

Are every one night-capped.

*

O, with thee, I twirled! I sashayed

On gleaming floors of gold and green!

Citrine bamboo and sapphire jade

mirror’d a magic Elven scene!

Newton and I, hand in hand, floated

Unstoppable, strands of silk were we,

As if a conjured breeze, to us devoted,

Care less of gravity,

Like the subtle moon who wooed the tide

To dance her symmetry.

*

Woe to those born not even to forget

The steps they coulds’t never learn;

Wall to wall, doomed to rugs, and to carpet

Rough buds to peel away and spurn.

A youth so wasted, but for the spectre-thin veil

Twixt joyous freedom heaven sent

And leaden footsteps, ponderous and pale.

Alas! Alack! They know not what it meant

To don a gossamer pair and jet,

Free of fancy, over a waxen, wooden vale!

*

Away! I doff this cuff’ed, imprisoned flight

Of the duller senses, my hapless Art waning,

And imagine I soar to your unconquered height,

Encumbered not by wit constraining.

Hap’ly, I turn my blockhead mind aside

For Poesy, knowing she might come

Sit with me awhile; my muse is she and may confide

Her secret dreams to me. Although I once was dumb,

My voice, by her imbued, and ripe with might,

It shouts: Aha! I have but only Time remaining!

*

Upon stone and slate and splintered beech

Parquetted and oiled, Chronos, to airy thinness beat

You, ‘til your soles, woebegone and holey, each

Scraped and scuffed, succumbed to raw defeat.

But joyous bells will yet ring - another year will pass.

Before the sun, I will spring awake

On a child’s most belov’ed Mass;

I’ll bend an ear and squeeze and shake!

Lo! But Soft! You magic into my reach,

No sooner opened than pulled on my eager feet.

*

Even now, Bacchus’ scales, tipped by revelry

Through times of yore almost forgot,

Matter weighless in compare; in your reverie

I am smitten still, like Eros I’m besot.

Mighty Cupid shot me when I was but a child;

With pierc’ed heart, and still my catch,

Each time we meet anew, untamed and wild,

You are my perfect match.

Through divine or arcane devilry,

My love for you is wrought.

vintagelove poemshumor
6

About the Creator

Ward Norcutt

Playwright and poet.

My goal as a writer is to write thoughtful pieces of prose, poetry and stage plays. Hopefully, the end results are entertaining and engaging, with layers of meaning that make sense to the whole or a theme therein.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Jazzy 9 months ago

    The language is simply divine, the word choice alone makes me wonder if I even know what words are

  • Rachel Deeming10 months ago

    Blimey! That was some ode. Great form too. I hope those socks are truly worthy of such homage.

  • Babs Iverson10 months ago

    OMG!!! Poignantly and eloquently written for a new pair of socks!!! My cell phone is overwhelmed!!!♥️♥️💕

  • Gina C.10 months ago

    I love this, Ward! Beautiful language. Somehow you have made a pair of socks seem so elegant and dreamy 🤗 It's a marvelous journey you took us on here!

  • Cathy holmes10 months ago

    Fantastic, Ward. I think Dana might be right.

  • Dana Crandell10 months ago

    Absolutely brilliant, Ward! This should be a winner!

  • Sonia Heidi Unruh10 months ago

    Brilliant! Masterful patterning of language and form after high classic odes, completely out of step (so to speak) with the prosaic subject matter, delivered with a twinkling of playfulness.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.