Poets logo

Nothing Is as Good as Friendship

When Rex met Jim

By Jazmine AmbrosiaPublished 14 days ago Updated 13 days ago 1 min read
3
Nothing Is as Good as Friendship
Photo by Huang Yingone on Unsplash

The sudden opening of my eyes.

Nearby a tiny child cries.

"Mommy the T-rex it's alive!"

He notices I've been revived.

''Oh, what a silly thing to say,

that's just a statue it's ok."

The mommy then looks up at me.

I slightly blink, she screams, they flee.

When I take a step, the crowds aware.

"It is alive run! Beware!"

Just as I am about to roar,

something catches my attention on the floor.

I bow my head so I can see,

why it's a miniature me!

I take a whiff, it isn't real.

It's made of rubber and stainless steel.

What a peculiar little thing,

the tiny boy was carrying.

I grab it, walk around and see

more things that resemble me.

One human wears an image of

me on his chest, am I beloved?

The creatures like me, that used to roam Earth,

I remember hated me since birth.

They would always run, try to fight or hide.

No one got to know me on the inside.

I was a predator, and they were prey.

I had no friends on any given day.

But things seem to be different now.

The humans are fascinated with me, WOW!

Down below I see the boy,

who first noticed me and dropped his toy.

I bow my head, him and his mom yelp.

"Help, please someone help!"

I open my mouth not too wide,

and drop his toy right by his side.

I close my mouth still fixated on him,

he grabs his toy and blurts. "I'm Jim."

The brave young one holds up his hand.

"NO!" shouts his mom from where she stands.

Jim touches my nose affectionately.

At last, I have a friend

to eat.

A friend who knows me inside and out,

Jim knows the kindness of my character and the inside of my snout.

Friendship
3

About the Creator

Jazmine Ambrosia

An aspiring author allowing her

🌈imagination🌈to run amok 📖✨

Instagram & Snapchat Jazzybooo_o

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Joe O’Connor13 days ago

    I loved the humour you were able to get across in this poem - poor Jim!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.