Poets logo

Notebooks 📝

Couldn’t she see I had to keep my head down to protect myself?

By Grz ColmPublished 8 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - October 2023
53
Notebooks 📝
Photo by pure julia on Unsplash

Notebooks 📝

In these many, many notebooks

He’d compulsively write,

Every thought,

Everything to remember,

To structure his speeding train of thoughts,

Using lists to get through each day,

And obsessively chronicling every hurtful or forgotten memory,

To work a way towards freedom..

There were copious positive affirmations, CBT notes to read aloud,

And occasionally a snippet of creative writing.

Keep your head down so

You don’t have to deal with what is right

In front of you..

***

Then she took my book - my inner world,

Just to see my reaction..

“Can I have my book back now please?”

Can you believe she had the audacity?

I sure didn’t.

Then, she kept hold of it on the other side of the table and

Smiled -

Like this was some sort of OCD/response prevention game!

That I was not in the mood for.

Couldn’t she see I had to keep my damn head down down

Down,

To protect myself!?

📓

***

If you would like to read another short free verse about the importance 😅of not touching someone’s books you can do so below. The one above is obviously about me, “Bag of Books” is based on someone else.

If you liked it, please consider hitting the heart, leaving a comment or subscribing for more to encourage my future poems, short stories and film reviews. Many thanks.

performance poetry
53

About the Creator

Grz Colm

Film and TV reviews, 🎞 as well as short stories and free verse poems.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (42)

Sign in to comment
  • E.K. Daniels7 months ago

    Always like to see mental health discussed in literature. Well done!

  • Paul Stewart7 months ago

    Well call me a flaming arsehole as I thought I had commented and liked this already. Totally resonate with this, although it's my computer that is most precious to me and my WIP folder lol. Recently, though, I've taken to writing in a notebook too...if you want to call it "writing" it's like a GP's handwriting. Congrats on Top Story

  • Renessa Norton8 months ago

    The AUDACITY! Very well written.

  • Gina C.8 months ago

    Oh, this was so powerful, Grz! I feel like I've had some similar struggles, through they manifested a little differently than this. However, writing is definitely a way I've used to try to "free" myself. Wonderful expression!

  • Kristen Balyeat8 months ago

    I felt this one, Grz. I had a similar experience as a child. You described that violation so perfectly here. The memory is emblazoned in my mind. Great expression of thought and emotion, and congrats on top story!! 💫💞

  • Joe Patterson8 months ago

    Awesome poem. Congratulations on your top story. 🎉🎉🎉

  • So much said in so few words and lines. If Better Help and similar mental health platforms had a blog, this would be a piece that would resonante with many. Congratulations on Top Story!

  • Tiffany Gordon 8 months ago

    I feel you on this one! Wonderful work!

  • Hazi sultan8 months ago

    if you have any kind of issue than contact https://greatmuslimastrologer.com/

  • Congratulations on your Top Story🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉

  • Phil Flannery8 months ago

    I don't know what to say. You've described your struggle well. Great poem.

  • k eleanor8 months ago

    Beautifully written, Congratulations❤

  • i truly understand what it means to "keep you head down to protect yourself. "

  • Excellent poem and well deserved to see it on Vocal's front page

  • Test8 months ago

    Beautifully writtten, we need 'notebooks' for self-preservation I think. Poignant and powerful, and resonated hard. Congratulations of a wonderful Top Story! 🤍

  • Congratulations 🥳

  • Dana Stewart8 months ago

    I think she was flirting with you 😊but toying with your emotions, not in a good way. Great poem, Grz

  • StoryholicFinds8 months ago

    Congratulations ❤️

  • Kelsey Clarey8 months ago

    Congrats on the stop story! This gave me some second hand panic. XD

  • Margaret Brennan8 months ago

    The ironic part of this poem is that while I have no problem sharing my writings with friends, I feel very awkward sharing them with relatives, including my husband. Is that weird?

  • Caroline Jane8 months ago

    So you don't have to deal with what is right In front of you. Ouch. This prickled. ❤ Congratulations!

  • Cathy holmes8 months ago

    Wonderful. Congrats on the TS.

  • Donna Fox (HKB)8 months ago

    Congratulations on Top Story!! I liked the overall feel of this piece!

  • Babs Iverson8 months ago

    Hearted earlier!!! Congratulations on Top Story!°❤️❤️💕

  • Melissa Ingoldsby8 months ago

    Oh you shattered my heart. Truly, what a wonder you presented in such a devastating fashion. Bravo

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.