Poets logo

No Room for The Motions of Drama

Sometimes your own flesh and blood will treat you no better than a stranger on the street.

By Veronica WilliamsPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
1

I've been written off before,

By people who didn't matter,

And shared no blood

Nor DNA.

I cleansed myself of them

And tended to the wounds.

I've been cast aside too many times

For shallow, hopeless things

For assumptions,

For damages,

For simple words unsaid.

So what's new about us?

If I were still that Summer Child,

That hopeful sprite,

That faithful scamp,

Perhaps this would hurt more.

But alas--

I am nobody,

And this is to be expected.

A walking desert,

A sullen vessel,

A woman of other worries--

I cannot stop to die

Just because you're done with me.

I was warned,

And never listened...

And now the curtains have been drawn.

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Veronica Williams

Chicagoan in TN. Currently married to the night and looking for coffee.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.