Poets logo

National Lost Sock Memorial Day

Yes, that's a thing.

By Natasja RosePublished 11 days ago 1 min read
Top Story - May 2024
19
National Lost Sock Memorial Day
Photo by Anastasiya Badun on Unsplash

On May 9th, we mourn our socks.

Vanishing to interdimensional portals

Created by our washing machines and dryers

Stolen by furry or feathered fiends

Worn out faster by one foot than the other

Or sacrificed to an artistic cause.

Some find new life as rags to scrub or polish

Others find new companions in a charity bin

Some become odd pairs; for who looks at socks?

All slowly fade from our lives.

Where are they now? We shall never know.

The plain pack of five, slowly dwindled to none

The childhood favourites, worn until the day they vanished.

Gone, but not forgotten

Lingering in spirit

Remembered forever in our hearts and chilly toes.

Free Verse
19

About the Creator

Natasja Rose

I've been writing since I learned how, but those have been lost and will never see daylight (I hope).

I'm an Indie Author, with 30+ books published.

I live in Sydney, Australia

Follow me on Facebook or Medium if you like my work!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (18)

Sign in to comment
  • angela hepworth6 days ago

    Haha what a fun TS! Congrats!!

  • Anna 7 days ago

    Congrats on Top Story!

  • ROCK 7 days ago

    Congratulations on Top Story!

  • Christy Munson10 days ago

    Reminds me of a Tom Robbins novel, Skinny Legs and All, in which (inanimate objects Robbins personifies) Dirty Sock, Can o' Beans, and Spoon run away together. Such fun!

  • Eclipse10 days ago

    Awesome...supports my theory that dryers often have intense cravings for socks which is why I can never find any after I do laundry. :)

  • Our Bright Life10 days ago

    câu chuyện tuyệt vời

  • Gloria Penelope10 days ago

    Wonderful story, congratulations!

  • BrettNotGreg10 days ago

    This made me smile! Congrats on to story!

  • Babs Iverson10 days ago

    Fantastic!!! Loved it!!!

  • The Dani Writer11 days ago

    Oh, that's a good one! Welp, they saw an opportunity to leave...and they took it 😁 Great poem and great top story!

  • Kendall Defoe 11 days ago

    This is serious (at 2:09): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FeIZl1N-SWA&t=9s

  • Sock, oh sock, how you smell xD

  • hahaha, I spent about 10 minutes this morning looking for a mate...for my sock. Congrats!!

  • Man, I've lost some good socks. Raising a glass to them today. Great poem, super fun! Congrats on the Top Story!

  • Dana Crandell11 days ago

    Ah, yes. 10 pair of plain white sport socks and 3 lonely dress socks. Congratulations!

  • There is a day for everything , and this is a great way to celebrate one of those many things, excellent work

  • I bought 5 pairs, and now i'm down to 2 and 1/2. I don't remember coming home sockless....hmm.

  • Manisha Dhalani11 days ago

    Haha, I didn't know there was such a day! Loving this poem.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.