Poets logo

My one true home is far away…

A Villanelle

By Alexis Dean Jr.Published 5 months ago 1 min read
2
My one true home is far away…
Photo by Julie Ricard on Unsplash

My one true home is far away

I escaped that place as I cried,

“Home’s not always where you stay”…

I dream of where I used to play,

And no matter how much I reach and climb

My one true home is far away…

I watched as it crumbled, I saw the decay

And learned during a sad night of crime,

Home’s not always where you stay

I carry the words my family used to say,

But I knew in the moment that I saw them die

My one true home is far away

I had no control of the shape of my day

It wasn’t my time, but I didn’t decide

Home’s not always where you stay

Life has changed, but I’m lost on what way

I only learned two things soon after I survived:

My one true home is far away.

Home’s not always where you stay.

childrens poetrysocial commentarysad poetryheartbreak
2

About the Creator

Alexis Dean Jr.

Alexis “L.E.X” Dean Jr. is a clean Hip-Hop artist, poet, and educator from Milwaukee, WI. As a writer and music artist, he focuses on the importance of educating through his words and stories...

IG: @DreamsStartYoung

DreamsStartYoung.com

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Joe Patterson5 months ago

    Great entry.

  • Hannah Moore5 months ago

    This is fantastic.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.