Poets logo

Ms. Machine

Built for heartbreaks

By Real PoeticPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
13
Pixlr created image

If you knew what I been through,

would you still love me,

or would you look at me funny?

Contemplating your decision.

Truth won’t make an incision,

but a lie will cut to the

last layer of skin.

I can’t spread myself too

thin trying to wrap you in.

Don’t be scared to lose

what’s underneath my clothes.

Disclose your intentions.

I don’t make tears to cry

anymore anyway, so I’ll just say

goodbye and lightly pour

myself some red wine.

I’ve watched a few lovers

come and go.

Just know I can do the same

with you.

I won’t cause a scene

or intervene.

I’m a “move on”

machine.

performance poetryheartbreak
13

About the Creator

Real Poetic

Welcome to my imagination. ✨

I write what I want, whenever I want.

Thanks for reading!

-R.P. ❤️

Instagram: @therealpoetic

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • L.C. Schäfer4 months ago

    This one is chiller than mine 😁

  • Mariann Carroll4 months ago

    Wow, very poetic. You can tell she has been through a lot in life.

  • Gosh I wish I was a move on machine! Your poem was so poignant, intense and powerful! I loved it!

  • Oh wow that one was awesome! It did feel like it was being performed, the word choice was so spot on. And what a great subject with such an interesting take on it. Loved that last line too!

  • The Dani Writer5 months ago

    Ooooooooooh thas a SLAM! Love. IT. TAHHHHHH!!! *Can't wait to read it multiple times*

  • But what if we don't want you to move on, R.P.? What if we're here for the duration?

  • sleepy drafts5 months ago

    Ouuu, this is so good. Knowing when to say goodbye is a skill that can be seriously hard for some. This poem is bold in its reminder that moving on doesn't have to be so devastating - the machine keeps going! Thank you for writing this!

  • Kendall Defoe 5 months ago

    Keep your machine humming, m dear!

  • Dana Crandell5 months ago

    Oooh, this is sad, and bold, and powerful. You go, grrrrrl!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.