Poets logo

Mother, Therapist

Partner, Daughter, Friend, No one

By Hannah MoorePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
2
Mother, Therapist
Photo by Hans-Peter Gauster on Unsplash

As I became a woman I was streetwise at six

Men drugged me I knew where to hide

And raped me I knew when not to fight

And told me I was good I held my head up as I bled

I hid my brother under the bed If I was drinking

I heard my mother screaming More than a child should

I couldn’t keep her safe It was because I needed help

But I kept him safe They kicked me out

I know he wants to hurt me I know I should not be here

So I never leave, not alone I am alone, I am unwanted

I hear him through the walls I see nothing ahead

No one listens hard enough Except for signs of my abomination

I am no one, paid to be, trained to be

No one. And someone who counts.

These are not my stories.

Let me hold them for you.

Listen. I will emphasise the pieces you missed.

And, bowed, I will miss the pieces of these

Which are not my stories

But make mine whole

And carve out how I open from being

To being someone.

Just let me hold your hair At work today something happened

In my fisted fingers And I feel angry as a result

Let me feel your heartbeat Or small. Proud. Uncertain.

Against myself Let me open my heart.

Do you know anybody who can help? I tell you my obsession

(Can you help me?) Because I love you

I hurt so much Witness me.

(You can make it right.) I need to know you won't look away

My daughter, the doctor, wants I have made a world for you

Too much from me Out of grass clippings

She is a mother herself now Out of dolls

I need her to need me less Out of words.

fact or fiction
2

About the Creator

Hannah Moore

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Hannah Moore (Author)12 days ago

    Ah! Safe hands you thought. But no! This one made a lot of sense to me writing it but WAY less reading it all this time later. It reminds me of viewing a piece of modern art where you go "Well, I get what they were trying to say, or the gist, but was this necessary? Why are there crisp packets and tampons stuck on?"

  • Paul Stewart12 days ago

    Wow. This has a lot to unpack...Was looking for something...maybe less involved and intense...but this is sterling work, Hannah. Like LC...those split sentences really make it powerful!

  • L.C. Schäfer9 months ago

    The split sentences are so clever and powerful ❤

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.