Poets logo

Mixed Media

“what once was me continues on.”

By Bridget CouturePublished 3 months ago 1 min read
4
Mixed Media
Photo by Greyson Joralemon on Unsplash

I am a sculpture I do not remember

carved by passing echoes

what once was me continues on

a bundle of scars, sensations, and time locked away

what is the present (currency, now)

if not endless relining by unknown hands

not mine

not anything

.

everything

.

I have forgotten half of my identity

the key of many descends

metal like flaked iron scratches deep into my throat

cells shift and swallow its coarse particles

I am not foreign to the pain

I am here

I was there

.

I will be all that I can’t remember

.

I won’t forget enough

.

I will reline forever until the layers cease.

Stream of ConsciousnessFree Verseart
4

About the Creator

Bridget Couture

An aspiring author and poet with an unquenchable love for books. Can often be found typing intensely or substituting reading for sleep.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Silver Serpent Books3 months ago

    Lovely poem. There's a sense of longing here that really resonates.

  • Unless you begin to peel back the layers one by one like an onion. In which case the question becomes, when you peel back that last layer, what do you think you'll find? Beautifully, painfully evocative poem, Bridget.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.