Poets logo

Melancholy

Optimism and Nihilism - Two Wings on the same bird

By ThatWriterWomanPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
7
Melancholy
Photo by Zane Lee on Unsplash

There’s a bird outside,

Its wings look torn to gold leaf,

The wind blows again.

By Peter Olexa on Unsplash

A/N: What is your interpretation of this haiku? I had an idea when writing it, but upon review, I can see it could have many meanings! What does it mean to you?

Also quick note - I am thinking of bringing back 'See These Three' (where I list my top 3 reads for a period of time) but perhaps as a bi-monthly event on my account. In articles separate from my stories/poems. What do you think?

Haiku
7

About the Creator

ThatWriterWoman

Welcome!

Writer from the UK (she/her, 25) specializing in fictional tales of the most fantastical kind! Often seen posting fables, myths, and poetry!

See my pinned for the works I am most proud of!

Proud member of the LGBT+ community!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Alivia Varvel5 months ago

    Ooo interesting! I saw it as an older bird who may have lost some feathers, but the ones it still has are golden, which reminds us of older “golden” days. I’ll be honest, I’m not great with catching on to the meaning of a lot of poems, so I am likely way off from what your intended meaning was. Regardless, it’s a beautiful haiku!

  • To me, it represents the perspectives of how we see things because there is always more than meets the eye. Loved your Haiku!

  • Hannah Moore5 months ago

    I interpret it as a contemplation of how quickly we change as circumstances buffet us. Hmm. Is that the right spelling of buffet?

  • Rachel Deeming5 months ago

    Fragility of things and a taking for granted of their worth - that's what I get from this. I loved it.

  • Real Poetic5 months ago

    I’d love for you to share your top three reads with us.

  • Kendall Defoe 5 months ago

    The bird is ephemeral, just like gold that can blemish and fade. Nice work! ;)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.