Poets logo

Major Arcana

You repeat your mantras.

By Carly BushPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - January 2024
15

The moon, cat-eyed and watchful,

ensnares like a spirit rattling in a cupboard,

follows like a panting dog,

possesses like the devil.

You pack a suitcase by the ocean.

You repeat your mantras of freedom, of minimalism, of escapism,

as you count coins,

look for signal graces in scattered beach glass.

How long is too long to delay the inevitable?

How many seasons can the prey hide before the hunter’s trap ensnares it?

Eventually, the moon bleeds.

The water dries up.

On the other coast, it snows;

and the land is flat,

and you sleep again, and the sorrow quietly lies in wait.

fact or fictionsad poetry
15

About the Creator

Carly Bush

I'm a writer with a passion for highly visual and quietly subversive literature. I contribute to Collective World and you can find my short stories and poetry here.

Connect with me on Instagram and TikTok: @carlyaugustabush

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (13)

Sign in to comment
  • Anna 3 months ago

    Congrats on Top Story!🥳

  • Naomi Gold4 months ago

    I feel personally attacked haha. The Moon is my least favorite card. I love The Tower. I love Death. I’m not afraid of The Devil. But The Moon? It sends chills up my spine any time it shows up in my readings for myself. You perfectly articulated why with this. It’s such a balancing act to be a dreamer, isn’t it? One must have a certain level of delusion to make something miraculous happen. They must believe in something no evidence backs. But there’s danger in that when fantasy eclipses reality and becomes escapism for what there’s truly no escaping. ‘and you sleep again, and the sorrow quietly lies in wait.’ What a perfect last line. 🩷

  • Tressa Rose4 months ago

    Loved this so much! Very beautifully written ❤️ New subscriber!

  • Margaret Brennan4 months ago

    WONDERFUL ... I ESPECIALLY ENJOYED: Eventually, the moon bleeds. The water dries up. On the other coast, it snows; and the land is flat, and you sleep again, and the sorrow quietly lies in wait. Everything changes and we are often lost to that change. This is fantastic. congratulations on TS.

  • Kenny Penn4 months ago

    Very well done, Carly. I especially liked the ironic lines, "You repeat your mantras of freedom, of minimalism, of escapism, as you count coins". Congrats on a well deserved TS

  • Kendall Defoe 4 months ago

    Well said!

  • Ken Douglas4 months ago

    Your poetry is interesting. Buy I love this guy's poetry 👇 https://www.facebook.com/100010296994439/posts/2183692751983937/?mibextid=rS40aB7S9Ucbxw6v I found it on Facebook and it was worth my time!.

  • Test4 months ago

    Kudos! Keep excelling in your work—congratulations!

  • JBaz4 months ago

    Beautiful word play, I really enjoyed the flow of your words. Congratulations

  • Annie Kapur4 months ago

    I love this poem, it reads so well. The language is just incredible. You should be really proud of this.

  • Cathy holmes4 months ago

    Oh my. Simply beautiful.

  • Test4 months ago

    Very creative!!

  • Suze Kay4 months ago

    Beautiful! It reminds me so much of my favorite tarot deck, the Somnia

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.