Poets logo

Love Yourself First

Something that I wish some women would do before getting into a relationship.

By David ThomasPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Photo By Sarah Fielding

As I have grown and observed relationships, the one thing that I have had to deal with.

some women who don’t love themselves enough.

And it gets rough, because of the damage from being with a man who doesn’t treat you right or even know how to give you that Mary J. Blige, “Real Love.”

So you go searching and think the next relationship will be better but that guy ends up being worse than the other one you dated before.

So in essence you went from the frying pan to the fire and you ended being even more broken hearted than ever before.

You start thinking “why can’t I find someone to love me the way I want to be loved.”

And it’s not your fault you just need to find that right person that fits you perfectly like a glove.

The only thing I would suggest for you to do is to get on your knees and pray to the heavens up above.

And stop looking for Mr. right now or falling into that groupie love.

I know how it feels to be lonely and having to wait until it is your turn.

But I think the best thing you can do is learn how to love yourself first.

love poems
1

About the Creator

David Thomas

I am a 34 year old author/spoken word artist who has written 2 poetry books and an autobiography. I love to write poems that are well versed and talk about everything that is going in society. I will putting some poetry on here.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.