Poets logo

Love is a Battlefield

meet you in the next life

By Brin J.Published 2 months ago Updated 2 months ago 1 min read
13
*Unsplash* camden-hailey-george

I will meet you at the front line,

where our enemies lie,

swords drawn, shields held high,

ready to fight for this life.

With you by my side,

we can take it all in stride

*

I will take each strike and bleed

battle with a silent plea,

lose parts of me,

just to make sure you're free.

A war I'd win if only

you are here fighting with me.

*

I will fight until my last breath,

swing until there's nothing left,

each strike will be deft,

even if it leads to my death,

proof my love isn't bereft

and once we've won, we can rest.

*

I will meet you in the boneyard,

where we fought hard,

with our bones charred

and our souls marred

yes, we might be scarred

but at least we still have our hearts.

*

I will meet you in the next life,

where we will reunite,

faced with another strife,

challenged by life's endless ride.

A war I will gladly fight,

as you are worth every price.

love poemsFor FunBallad
13

About the Creator

Brin J.

I have a few stories and poems inside me that I want to share. Maybe, if I'm lucky, they'll reach people who'll enjoy them. 📖

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Rowan Finley about a month ago

    This really has me thinking more about how we’ll interact in the afterlife.

  • May reciprocate these sentiments completely, Brin!

  • Mark Graham2 months ago

    Good work and quite descriptive.

  • Well done, it made me think of some of my favorite stories!

  • D.K. Shepard2 months ago

    Very sincere and such an impressive use of rhyme! Great poem, Brin!

  • Paul Stewart2 months ago

    Oh, this was beautiful, Brin. Just so much to love...so expressive, so true. Well done!

  • It really is worth fighting for someone when they're fighting alongside you. Loved your poem so much!

  • Mahesh Kumar2 months ago

    Great job

  • angela hepworth2 months ago

    How equally brutal and beautiful! Awesome work here, loved your rhyme scheme as well.

  • Donna Fox (HKB)2 months ago

    Brin, this was beautiful! I love the passion you were able to impart within this piece!! Great work!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.