Poets logo

Look Good, Feel Good

How To Style An Alien

By Alexis Dean Jr.Published 9 months ago 1 min read
6
Look Good, Feel Good
Photo by Travis Essinger on Unsplash

If I met an alien, I would take them on a spree

I would buy a couple fits and put rare Jordan’s on their feet

I would suggest how to dress, for the cold and for the heat

And I’d teach them how to say, “Ain’t nobody fly as me!”

When I was a new kid, I was different as can be

Big head, funny voice, and always picked on easily

But once I found my love for fashion, I changed, literally

That’s when I learned that feeling good, is the first step to feeling free…

So if I met an alien, I would buy the flyest clothes

I would teach the modern styles and show some glimpses of the old

I would tell them that your shoes can tell a story about your soul

And that the colors that you mix can pick you up when you are low

But, the biggest thing I’d teach, when we’re further down the road

Is something that even the famous supermodels fail to know

It’s not really about the name, or the price of the wardrobe

It’s about loving yourself, from your big head down to your toes…

performance poetryinspirationalchildrens poetryart
6

About the Creator

Alexis Dean Jr.

Alexis “L.E.X” Dean Jr. is a clean Hip-Hop artist, poet, and educator from Milwaukee, WI. As a writer and music artist, he focuses on the importance of educating through his words and stories...

IG: @DreamsStartYoung

DreamsStartYoung.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Tiffany Gordon 9 months ago

    Nice!!!!

  • Joe Patterson9 months ago

    Love this, great work.

  • Alex H Mittelman 9 months ago

    Wow, terrific poem!

  • I'm sure the alien would have loved what you did for them! Loved your poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.