Poets logo

Linger

-

By Ashley LimaPublished 6 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - December 2023
26
Linger
Photo by Ali on Unsplash

i saw a shooting star

and she told me to keep it moving.

i begged her to stay a little longer

while i watched her disappear before my eyes.

i still stare at the sky

but it's empty.

not even the twinkling of stars

can satiate the hunger;

just for a moment.

social commentarysurreal poetryslam poetryperformance poetrynature poetry
26

About the Creator

Ashley Lima

I think about writing more than I write, but call myself a writer as opposed to a thinker.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Kay Husnick6 months ago

    I love those first two lines!

  • Test6 months ago

    This was seriously amazing! I get how the desire to keep something beautiful going is; and it’s futility. How what you have seen was amazing and something else good is still not enough. Keeping it going can mean keep the star moving or keep it going can mean it’s futile to do so. Excellent usage for a dual meaning.

  • Melissa Ingoldsby6 months ago

    This was a mesmerizing piece !

  • Cathy holmes6 months ago

    Beautiful piece. Congrats on the TS.

  • Paul Stewart6 months ago

    Well now, so glad this got Top Story. Masterful writing, Ashley.

  • Well, that's how time works I guess. It never waits for anyone. Loved your poem! Hope you're doing well!

  • Paul Stewart6 months ago

    Love this. Masterfully restrained, giving away so much yet...like Anneliese said, suggesting way more without words!

  • Test6 months ago

    A lovely poem that implies so much more. Well done💙Anneliese

  • Mark Gagnon6 months ago

    Hi, Ashley! I haven't seen you hear for a while. Hope you'll be back more often. How did you make out with the book cover?

  • Rene Volpi 6 months ago

    That's it?!? Unacceptable. I want to hear more!

  • Kenny Penn6 months ago

    This was a beautiful poem that made me think of my growing children. Thanks for sharing!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.