Poets logo

Journey

To What end

By DeEtta MillerPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
1

Once upon a time

In the middle of my life

I realized all I was

Was a mother and a wife

Don’t get me wrong

I love these roles!

But as time passed

I lost my goals

When I was young

So long ago

I dreamed of fame

But I just didn’t know

You see, with time

You get to choose

Somethings you gain

Somethings you loose

I wanted to sing

To dance and act

But falling in love

Knocked me off my track

They’ll be no bows

For adoring fans

Instead of tours

I sweep and wash pans

Raising my babies

To be wise and kind

A survivor of abuse

I left that world behind

Working fulltime

To help pay the bills

Sapped all my energy

And left few thrills

Losing my mother

Grandmother to mine

Grieving in solitude

Needing more time

She never got justice

For pain from his fists

I wrote her sad stories

Not one blow, did I miss

Once my voice was freed

Its anger directed

At the Capital I marched

Lobbying those we elected

Life was no longer

Black or white

With scars on my soul

I was ready to fight

To broaden my horizons

Where could I go

My quest soon became

As a person to grow

During college at fifty

I labeled my love

I’m a Humanist Feminist

With a strong velvet glove…

inspirational
1

About the Creator

DeEtta Miller

Found my "Voice" as a college student of forty-seven. Once a memoir was written, fiction, poetry and non-fiction became my passions.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Mabout a year ago

    Beautiful work

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.