Poets logo

Island

An 'I remember' poem

By TheSpinstressPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
6
Island
Photo by Ewan Harvey on Unsplash

I remember dead whale on the beach, enormous and small at the same time, Minke, not stinking like people said it would but not exactly emitting an aroma for sore noses either; we were told not to touch it so we compromised, one fingertip each.

I remember the cold slithering slap of a jellyfish against already unsteady legs.

I remember the Hogmanay gale that lifted me up and threw me down on the other side of the lane, breathless in the face of its rage.

I remember how the midges ruined a summer afternoon on our bikes, a fuzzy cloud of irritants never diminishing in number no matter how many you massacred with a sharp clap in front of your face.

I remember when the bus driver steered around a hedgehog who got caught playing chicken, grinning at his own theatrical display of compassion while we cheered.

I remember my dad’s shifty-eyed evasion after the sinister disappearance of my favourite sheep.

I remember a disgusting spider under my foot in a wellington boot and I remember it every time I see a wellington boot and I will never ever not ever put my foot in a boot without shaking it out.

I remember sliding around the playground shrieking before the killjoy council men arrived to melt the ice with their grey grit, turning fun to sludge.

I remember the sickening roll of the ferry just before I gave up and threw up my fat pork sausages.

I remember moths queueing outside my window to get in, a line of flying monsters, too stupid to know the difference between a lightbulb and the moon, but still able to observe social niceties.

I remember my cat's face when she ate one.

By Jamie Pollock on Unsplash

If you like these poems, you might like City Girl, or Kitchens.

Likes, hearts and subscriptions always appreciated - let me know what you think!

nature poetryStream of ConsciousnesshumorFriendship
6

About the Creator

TheSpinstress

New bio in progress :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Angie the Archivist 📚🪶about a month ago

    Gorgeous memories… ‘I remember when the bus driver steered around a hedgehog who got caught playing chicken, grinning at his own theatrical display of compassion while we cheered.’✅ Loved the queuing moths!

  • Rachel Deeming2 months ago

    A real view of your childhood, vividly evoked.

  • Lol, your cat ate the moth. Loved reading this!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.