Poets logo

Impending Doom

It's just a feeling.

By Silver Serpent BooksPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
3
Impending Doom
Photo by Hans Eiskonen on Unsplash

It hit him me the stomach.

Knocked me right off my chair.

It threw my chest into a fit of knots

And looped belts around my lungs

Until air could only flutter, flutter, fail.

I could smell it.

Taste it beside the morning coffee and afternoon eclair.

Impending doom.

I was taught, beaten into understanding.

My genetic sequences all learning to line up

And smell the static of the storm before a cloud

Could be spotted.

Before the wind started.

As soon as the heat of the sun touches the atmosphere,

I can taste the...

Impending doom

In the air like blood.

Like metal.

Like powdered tooth and bone.

And its unstoppable.

The mountain is already aggravated.

The avalanche has already begun

And in my chest tightens with...

Impending doom.

I hear the chaos.

I see it boil into fury.

It devours souls, rips apart stars.

This wild thing,

This ugly thing,

It swallows people whole and spits out their bones,

Stupid little memories of them covered in a sense of...

Impending doom.

So I start to change increments

To hide from whatever monster chases me.

I die my hair black, then blue, then red like blood.

My face goes gaunt.

Shadows gather beside my ribs but my footsteps

Become soundless.

Something familiar dies in my eyes and now

But I can still see it.

Impending doom.

The phone already rang.

I already watched the dog piss on my tree.

The actions are irreversible,

As unchangeable as the sunrise,

A stellar collision,

A brewing storm that I can only smell.

And so I've been caught,

Swallowed whole by that thing, this...

Impending doom.

surreal poetrysad poetryperformance poetrynature poetry
3

About the Creator

Silver Serpent Books

Writer. Interested in all the rocks people have forgotten to turn over. There are whole worlds under there, you know. Dark ones too, even better.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Carol Daux5 months ago

    Always a strong feeling, perfectly captured. No escape now!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.