Poets logo

I've grown old

"but he's gone"

By Gloria PenelopePublished 14 days ago 1 min read
4
I've grown old
Photo by Shimo Yann on Unsplash

I've grown old.

Grey hair began knocking.

I have a lot of sleep.

My thoughts have altered.

I read carefully.

using my elderly,

delicate eyes.

My beauty disappeared.

I used to be a small, adorable girl.

Many people used to love me.

Some people despised me.

But I won at love.

From those who

admired my beautiful moments.

They adored the lively girl in me.

Brilliant lady to retain.

I married in my youth.

I am still married.

But he's gone.

I hope to join him shortly.

How my beloved husband fled.

He died unexpectedly.

He covered himself with the sky.

He keeps looking down

to see me every day.

He's one of the stars.

My lover,

My everlasting husband.

FamilyvintagehumorFree Verse
4

About the Creator

Gloria Penelope

Every creative piece is just me telling a story. Enjoy my creative writing!

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Dr. Jason Benskin14 days ago

    Nice Work. I enjoyed your poem very much. Let me know your thoughts on my work, open to constuctive feedback.

  • Belle14 days ago

    A very cute, short and sweet poem, Gloria ❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.