Poets logo

I'm Not Here to Save You

stop asking

By Sandra MatosPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
4
I'm Not Here to Save You
Photo by Max Harlynking on Unsplash

I don't wanna be the one that saves you.

I'm not a criminal,

the thief of your light.

Shine in your own right.

I won't wear a cape

like a noose around my neck.

I won't be shackled by the consequences of

saving you.

I'm not here for that.

I'm not here to own your failures. I have my own.

I'm not here for accolades.

I don't need my ring kissed.

I'm not here to save you.

You don't need me for that.

I'm not here to own your choices.

To pay the price of taking credit

For you.

I'm not here to save you.

I'm just here

to understand.

And to clap.

Free Verse
4

About the Creator

Sandra Matos

I write so that people will remember me. I make art for the same reason. I had a mother that I never knew. Who she was, how she smelled, or what she valued. I don't want anyone to wonder who I was.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Rachel Deeming2 months ago

    I feel a lot of what you've written here, for my kids and what their expectations are of me and how I can make sure that they thrive independently of me. Sometimes, I feel like they are hesitant to do that and I'm not sure if that is from lack of confidence or not wanting to.

  • L.C. Schäfer4 months ago

    This is really love, although a lot of people don't see it 👍

  • Anna 5 months ago

    I love it! Keep up the good work!🥰

  • M. Lee5 months ago

    I LOVE this! It resonates with me and I feel like a lot of people can relate to your beautiful words. Nicely written!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.