Poets logo

I'll Make This Moment Mine

Moments of Self-Awareness in the Middle of the Night

By Cendrine MarrouatPublished 3 years ago Updated 11 months ago 2 min read
27
I'll Make This Moment Mine
Photo by Aziz Acharki on Unsplash

Like many of you, I am a night owl. In my early days as a poet, my most inspired moments were around 3 a.m.

(There is a scientific explanation for this. Apparently, it has to do with the prefrontal cortex—the part of the brain involved in things like concentration, planning, rewards, and working memory. When we are tired and supposed to go to bed, the prefrontal cortex becomes less active. In turn, other parts of the brain have more free rein to do their things, which includes unleashed creativity! If you want more info on this, you can read this article.)

The poem below dates back to 2007 and is an example of what I used to write in the middle of the night. This particular piece talks about a time in my life when spirituality (not religion) helped guide me on the path to recovery from a long and painful depression. I still had a few years to go then, but the daily pain was starting to recede slowly by surely.

I'll Make This Moment Mine

I have waited all my existence

For this moment to gain consistence.

And now things are steady, crystalline,

I will make this awareness all mine!

All the love I have shared and scattered,

All the words I have sown and shattered,

Everything is now gone, said, and done.

But nothing will ever be undone!

I have reached the path of least resistance,

And I will make this deep moment mine.

I will forsake the things that mattered,

And help my heart and soul feel as one!

I will make this moment mine.

© 2007 Cendrine Marrouat

That's it for today! Thank you for reading!

---

Cendrine Marrouat is a writer, photographer, podcaster, blogger, anthology editor, and the co-founder of Auroras & Blossoms and A Warm Cup of Cozy. She has authored and co-authored more than 40 books, including The Train: A Short Story (2023), In Her Own Words: A Collection of Short Stories & Flashku (2022), After the Fires of Day: Haiku Inspired by Kahlil Gibran & Alphonse de Lamartine (2021), Rhythm Flourishing: A Collection of Kindku and Sixku (2020), Walks: A Collection of Haiku (2019-2020), and In the Silence of Words: A Three-Act Play (2018).

Cendrine's work has appeared in many publications. She is the creator of the Sixku, Flashku, Sepigram, and Reminigram; as well as the co-creator of the Kindku, Pareiku, Vardhaku, and Hemingku.

inspirational
27

About the Creator

Cendrine Marrouat

Writer & Author⎜Photographer⎜Artist⎜Co-founder of Auroras & Blossoms / A Warm Mug of Cozy⎜(Co-)creator of literary forms

"The Train: A Short Story" is out!

Website: https://creativeramblings.com

Donations: https://ko-fi.com/cendrineartist

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Tiffany Gordon 11 months ago

    Beautiful & inspiring!

  • Babs Iverson11 months ago

    Magnificent!!! Loved the information and fabulous poem!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Sian N. Clutton11 months ago

    As a fellow night owl, this really spoke to me!

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Very nicely done. That info in fascinating as well. Though, I'm rarely awake at 3 am.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.