Poets logo

I Choose to Be Stronger Than the Booze

A poem telling alcohol to take a hike because I'm taking back control!

By Crystal A. WolfePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
2
Photo by rebcenter moscow from Pexels

Your power over me is at an end.

I’ve had enough of your sh*t,

and the shame you’ve given me.

It’s time to quit.

.

We had an understanding relationship,

but I’ve opened my eyes.

You’re a wolf in sheep’s clothing, and

I’ve had enough of your lies.

.

“You’ll be back again;

You always do.

You’ll miss me.

This, you won’t see through.”

.

“Not this time,” I say.

My heath declined at steady pace,

so did relationships and my confidence.

Sobriety is what I want to embrace.

.

You did what I asked:

Help me feel numb.

However, Monday morning

I woke up foolish and dumb.

.

Throwing away my wine,

you wanted to stay, despite the banter.

I’m ignoring your temptations,

and even tossing the decanter.

.

You’re dead to me.

I’m waving at you,

finally bidding

adeiu.

.

If you like this poem, consider giving these other ones a read! 👇

Hearts ❤️ and tips ️💸 are always welcome and much appreciated as they help support my writing! 🙏

This article was originally published on Medium and CrystalsWritingRoom.

inspirational
2

About the Creator

Crystal A. Wolfe

Blogger | Creative Writer | Traveler | Full-Time RVer

You can find all of my articles on my blog as well on Medium where I'm most active in Humor, Lifestyle, and Travel. I've self-published one fantasy fiction with the sequel in the works.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Powerful, inspiring, and motivational!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.