Poets logo

How to Release Distress, Become Calm and Be at One with Yourself - Abecedarian-style

Calmness in A to Z

By Grz ColmPublished 4 months ago 2 min read
27
How to Release Distress, Become Calm and Be at One with Yourself - Abecedarian-style
Photo by Simon Berger on Unsplash

Accept and allow first, before moving forwards (read that again, as it’s the most important) -

Brush your arms and legs down gently, removing somatic, toxic debris,

Chant, or use affirmations for practising positive psychology,

Don’t wallow for days - give yourself ten minutes and then once it has,

Elapsed choose to laugh about how close-minded you were ten minutes

ago,

Focus on finding your people, but if you can’t then enjoy the ones you have!

Gently swirl your neck around, from side to side,

Hope is our tonic to self-soothe - what is it that you want? Set the intent and envision it,

Ideas - recall all those you once had & choose one to focus on: paint, dance, learn french, study philosophy, or join Vocal,

Joke with yourself - the more you learn to laugh at yourself - the greater your self-compassion,

Kiss your dog!

Laugh - even if you have to make yourself. You’ll invariably start laughing about laughing,

Massage the back of your neck with the palm of your hand,

Night-time rituals: aromatherapy, bathe, read, gratitude journal or whatever makes you feel good,

Ommmmmmmm - a time to meditate,

Plan a fun activity with a friend or family member who doesn’t drive you crazy,

Quest: go on your own inner hero’s quest & come back with unique knowledge to share,

Roam the great outdoors: walk, run, breathe in the fresh air,

Shake off all negative energy with some repetitive, slightly aggressive flicks of the wrists,

Tell yourself you are okay right now - this is just something you’re working through,

Use your voice any which way you can: shout, write, sigh & sing,

Vacation, go away, even if for a few days, or a day trip outside of yourself,

Wonder what life would be like if you did away with your evil inner-critic,

Xanadu - journey to your own mind’s dreamy & magical destinations,

Yoga poses & stretches to calm, strengthen and release tension,

Zen - find or rediscover yours & relish the serene with enthusiasm.

🌧 🧘🏽‍♂️ ⚔️ 🐕 ☀️

*Written for the Vocal Abecedarian poetry challenge, 2024.

Quick note: I obviously don’t have it all figured out I assure you, yet many of these have been helpful for me at various times. Unfortunately, my long lines didn’t transfer well into the vocal formatting, yet I know my alphabet, I swear! 😁 Cheers for reading!

Mental Healthinspirationalhow toFree Verse
27

About the Creator

Grz Colm

Film and TV reviews, 🎞 as well as short stories and free verse poems.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (25)

Sign in to comment
  • Angie the Archivist 📚🪶23 days ago

    Somehow I missed reading this excellent Abecedarian poem! Really like… ‘ Kiss your dog! Laugh - even if you have to make yourself. You’ll invariably start laughing about laughing,’ Puppies & laughter… both such good medicine 🤩✅

  • Pauline Fountain2 months ago

    Wonderful and wise. With the insight of lived experience you have a unique gift to speak not just to those with mental illness. Your advice has universal appeal. People with contemplate and self question - ‘Hey I think this is me?’ Thank you so much for writiing this. ‘Hope is our tonic to self-soothe’ Pauline 🌸

  • Leslie Writes2 months ago

    I needed this! All wonderful advice. I admit to kissing my dog and singing silly songs about whatever I’m doing. Today I sang a song about my big salad. The chorus goes “Big salad, BIG BIG salad” - made me forget my bullshit for a minute 😊 I gotta get back to yoga!

  • E.K. Daniels3 months ago

    How did I miss this? Love it! Sage advice.

  • Yusuf Alam3 months ago

    🔥🔥🔥👌👌👌Grz This Island Is Made Entirely of Gemstones https://vocal.media/01/this-island-is-made-entirely-of-gemstones

  • Novel Allen3 months ago

    ABCedarian away we go. Such great advice, I have been doing a bit of these now and then. So glad to see you, go on with your positive bad self. Hope your weekend is going great. Wake up and live yeah-Bob Marley song.

  • Xanadu! Nice find 👌

  • Joe O’Connor3 months ago

    Love how practical this advice actually is, and how helpful these tips are!

  • Rachel Deeming3 months ago

    This made me thoughtful and made me laugh. I can't do K unless I grab a strange one in the street but all the others are open!

  • Babs Iverson4 months ago

    Awesome Abecedarian poem!!! Great advice!!! Used many of them myself!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Shirley Belk4 months ago

    I found this delightful!!!

  • Kristen Balyeat4 months ago

    Grz, I LOVE THIS PIECE! Yes to every single one of these action steps. This is advice to print and read daily—You should make a poster out of it! I’d buy it and hang in my yoga room!!! Beautiful job and incredible advice! 💫🙌🏽💫💞

  • Cathy holmes4 months ago

    Beautiful, calming. Nicely done.

  • Lamar Wiggins4 months ago

    The ABC’s of self-help therapy. Nice! I agree with Dharr, this could be printed and shared in so many settings. Also, I’ve always love the word Xanadu. Nice use of it here.

  • Andrei Z.4 months ago

    Learn French, huh? I know, I know. My neck was giving its crunching assent while I read the lines mentioning her :-D

  • This needs to be printed, laminated and handed out to everyone! Like this was a whole package of good advice! Are you sure you're not some kinda secret monk? Lol. Loved your poem!

  • Real Poetic4 months ago

    I really did read the first one twice before even noticing that you recommended it! Lovely poem with some great advice!

  • Mother Combs4 months ago

    great advice

  • L.C. Schäfer4 months ago

    Good advice. P might be tricky though 🤔

  • Manisha Dhalani4 months ago

    The line about hope! So good.

  • Thank you for sharing your wisdom Grz. I've been doing yoga for decades now. I enjoy the calming effects and how every part of my body is relaxed.

  • Oooooooommmm. This was great

  • You may not have it all figured out yet, Grz, but you're well on the path. Thanks for sharing these.

  • Tiffany Gordon 4 months ago

    Brilliant & Fabulous! I especially loved X-Z! Awesome work!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.