Poets logo

Home

There and back again

By P.A. WilkinsonPublished 16 days ago 2 min read
2

I’ve been wandering on my own

For a long while now

Waiting for my soul to grow

Let the music show me how

I’ve found

The happiest folks

Are the ones in the street

Quick with a joke

And slow on their feet

But they are few and far between

So I’ll stick around

And learn from what I see

I’ve got time on my side

I’m here for the long ride

There’s a sun rising now

Lighting up the things I have found

Now I’ll pick them up from where I left off

And give them a little love

I’ve had my time at home

I am ready to roam

I’ve met city slickers and guitar pickers

In the big city

Even they get the picture

The adventure

Is through the trees

And into the sea

So I packed my stuff and got on a bus

Set off for the coast

And let nobody know

A wandering ghost

Looking for a repose

I spent my time drinking wine

Scribbling words

And biding my time

By the ocean all alone

It is good place to find your soul

I’ve got time on my side

I’m in it for the long ride

There’s a sun shining down

On all these things I’ve found

So I pick them up from where I left off

And give them some love

It’s been so long that I’m all alone

I wonder how they’re doing back home

I met a girl in Brussels

She speaks Polish, German, English and French

She quit her job to find happiness

I told her that only makes sense

You could die tomorrow

Doing what you hate

So you may as well take a chance now

Before it’s too late

But I’ve got time on my side

We’re in it for the long ride

It is sundown now

I am left with all I’ve found

So I pick it up from where I left off

And give it a little love

It’s been so long that I’m on my own

I’m coming home

art
2

About the Creator

P.A. Wilkinson

Trying to make sense of the universe around us. The mistakes of yesterday are today’s wisdom.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • L.C. Schäfer4 days ago

    Agree with Rachel, this feels songy 😁

  • Rachel Deeming5 days ago

    Is this a song? It feels like a song. I loved it. I love its rambling quality, its freeness.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.