Poets logo

Home

The Simple Things

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished 17 days ago 1 min read
10
Home
Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

A faded image of my mother

chromatic memories of my dad

Golden moments, cherished forever

some were the best I've ever had

They struggled through raising a family

gave everything, their heart and soul

but through it all they gave it happily

my love filled heart, down memories stroll

We had it all, though did not know it

gathered to eat each night as one

I'd trade the world to relive a moment

how quickly time becomes undone

Together again, upon my mantle

forever sealed in marble, blue

Their ashes blend, eternally tangled

Not even death could break, "I do."

surreal poetrylove poemsFamily
10

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Shirley Belk16 days ago

    beautiful

  • Oh wow the end hit like a ton of bricks. Very gripping reflection

  • This was so poignantly beautiful! Loved your poem!

  • What a lovely poem. So felt.

  • R.R.Hannaman17 days ago

    This is how I envision the saying 'A picture is worth a thousand words.' You brought life to a gray and white picture.

  • Andrea Corwin 17 days ago

    Wow, this poem is so beautiful! ashes blend....We had it all, though did not know it gathered to eat each night as one. Just wonderful!💓

  • Babs Iverson17 days ago

    Fantastic love poem!!! Loving it!!!❤️❤️💕

  • angela hepworth17 days ago

    So lovely!

  • Great poem! Home is good!

  • Heather Hubler17 days ago

    Awww!!! This was so incredibly tender and sweet :)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.