Poets logo

Hidden

which message do you believe?

By Siobhan McSweeneyPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
2
Hidden
Photo by Joeyy Lee on Unsplash

I am not strong

You will never know me to say

That I am beautiful

I know, with my whole entire being

I am defined by my reflection

I cannot believe that

The world sees the real me

I know

I am not worth a deeper look

It is foolish to think

I will attract the right people

By being myself, with the collage of me

I endeavor to cover the scarred patches

The tattoos, cracks, and effervescent anxiety

They are ugly

It would be wrong to say

I love it, me

To show off what binds my soul

It's not worth it

You cannot convince me

To show myself

or

To be brave

For Funsurreal poetrysocial commentaryProse
2

About the Creator

Siobhan McSweeney

An elementary school teacher who is doing her best okay

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Manisha Dhalani2 months ago

    This is heartbreaking - it's sad to think this way. I hope you're okay.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.