Poets logo

Her Fault

She's strong enough to pick herself apart better than any man could...

By Veronica WilliamsPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

If I wanted to go over

all the things that made me feel lesser than,

If I wanted to pick myself apart--

I don't think I'd need the help of a man.

I've been good

at picking me apart,

good at feeling down.

I've been pretty good at hating all of me.

I'm the expert when it comes to

the very worst of me,

and I don't need him

to carefully find my faults.

If I decided to list all my weaknesses,

If I decided I wasn't good enough,

I could do it on my own–

don't need no help,

baby I'm grown.

I've been my best enemy

longer than you've known my name.

I've been my best love,

I'll be that woman again.

If I wanted to lose myself,

and decide that I could never be a wife–

I could take the needed time,

I could fuck up every line.

I don't need no man to tell me

I'm the worst.

If I decided that I was the worst I could be,

that I don't deserve love,

passion,

or familiar company–

I could do it all alone,

don't need a sucker,

nor a home.

I know me best,

I know me best.

I refuse to be dependent on his judgment.

I refuse to hang my head,

'cause he's got opinions.

He don't know me very well,

He's in his own bitter hell.

Why's he trying to shovel coals

into mine?

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Veronica Williams

Chicagoan in TN. Currently married to the night and looking for coffee.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.