Poets logo

He Came Down Once

Stone bench

By Rowan Finley Published 24 days ago 1 min read
8
Photo taken by D O on pexels.com

Devastation,

burnt up,

pulverized heart,

when you told me that,

“It’d take Jesus to come down,

to save your marriage.”

To which I replied,

“He already came once!”

I’ll never forget that cold, hard bench,

on which I sat.

My soul spat inside,

and the anguish tried to abide.

I forgive you for the damage,

and the hope you lost,

because I know you said it out of exhaustion.

The irony,

as I believe most would agree,

is that you sat across from me,

as a Hosea figure yourself.

Now, I just pray and plead,

that, marriage counseling, you don’t continue to conduct or proceed.

slam poetryheartbreak
8

About the Creator

Rowan Finley

Father. Academic Advisor. Musician. Writer. Aspiring licensed mental health counselor. My real name is Jesse Balogh.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran24 days ago

    Gosh, that was so heartbreaking 🥺 Loved your poem

  • Colleen Walters24 days ago

    A lot to unpack there and I’m sorry that you went through that. Here’s to better days to come-

  • Oh dear! Definitely burnt out… or never on fire to start with. Whatever happened to “With God, nothing’s impossible”?

  • Well written! Sounds like counseling didn’t work out totally. Great poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.