Poets logo

Hammer of Change

Free Verse Poem

By Lindsay SfaraPublished 2 months ago 1 min read
7
Hammer of Change
Photo by Moritz Mentges on Unsplash

I will carry the hammer

and make the first swing.

But I wonder, my friend,

will you swing it thereafter?

.

You praise my actions.

You support my methods.

But when the time calls to join,

will you swing it thereafter?

.

The first step is the largest

that quakes the earth beneath.

Will you step for the hammer?

Will you swing it thereafter?

.

And should we meet a force

that denounces our ways,

will you still take my hand?

Will you swing the hammer?

.

I caused the upstart, the roars,

but I need you by my side.

We are stronger together.

Will you swing the hammer?

.

‘Cause if you really want change,

I can’t do it for you.

I will make the first swing,

but will you swing it too?

.

Will you swing the hammer

and keep swinging it thereafter?

Mental HealthStream of ConsciousnessinspirationalFree Verse
7

About the Creator

Lindsay Sfara

I'm just a daydreaming nerd writing poetry and fiction about mental health.

Follow my novel journey and more: linktr.ee/lindsaysfara

"Not all those who wander are lost" - J.R.R. Tolkien

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • L.C. Schäfer2 months ago

    Powerful imagery, evocative of forging real change ❤

  • The repeated question really drives home the depth of this poem. Wonderful job!

  • Andrea Corwin 2 months ago

    Great poem on change and the attempt to help someone do it.

  • Ameer Bibi2 months ago

    Beautiful illustration about will you it swing too. This poem has deep messages. I will say that writer has strong thoughts.

  • Stephanie Hoogstad2 months ago

    Very nicely done. It has a great rhythm to it, and the message behind the poem is strong. It feels like a villanelle but with a slight alteration to it that makes it feel original and work a lot better. Well done.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.