Poets logo

Grief is an Animal

A poem about my mother's sudden passing.

By Valerie TaylorPublished 13 days ago 1 min read
Top Story - May 2024
37
Grief is an Animal
Photo by Alexander Grey on Unsplash

I will not discuss how you went,

Not how I found you, nor the tears that I spent.

I will not talk about the sound I made,

Like a wild animal breaking free from my chest,

A Grecian lamentation so fierce

That it woke ancient demons from their rest.

Grief is an animal,

Terrible and snarling.

It bites and claws and mauls

My core.

It burrows into where my heart was before.

When I think of you, cold and still,

The Grief in my heart, oh how it moves to fill

My brain with parasites that pervade all my thoughts.

You said you would be here,

But now with Grief I am lost.

Grief is an animal baring its teeth,

And it’s the last gift you gave me,

This terrible beast beyond belief.

But if I must hold it and feed it,

Then I suppose it’s all right.

At least dear Grief sits with me at night.

Familysad poetryMental Health
37

About the Creator

Valerie Taylor

Freelance Writer | World Traveler | Dancer | Fitness Nerd

Check out my website: https://www.thetravelingvalkyrie.com

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (24)

Sign in to comment
  • Ehis Eddy Uwaifo4 days ago

    This is greaT work

  • Belle8 days ago

    Beautiful... painful and relatable... I'm so sorry for your loss ❤️

  • F Cade Swanson8 days ago

    This is so beautiful and painful. Well done and I'm so sorry for your loss.

  • Hi everyone! Thank you so much for loving my poem and for all your kind words. I'm very appreciative of this and hope to have more poetry for you soon :)

  • Tammy Wakeford8 days ago

    Love this. I felt every line.

  • Andrea Corwin 9 days ago

    Yes, and congratulations on Top Story!

  • Andrea Corwin 9 days ago

    ouch. haunting and sad. great job.

  • Carmen Henigin9 days ago

    Beautiful and heartbreaking. Raw and desperate. Thank you for capturing such a picture of the the realness of grief.

  • Hi Valerie, The metaphor of grief as an animal is strikingly effective, capturing the raw, uncontrollable nature of sorrow. Your ability to convey the intensity of emotion and the tumultuous journey through grief is truly remarkable. Each line resonated with me, reflecting the complexity and unpredictability of dealing with loss. Your writing beautifully encapsulates the struggle between wanting to tame this "animal" and the realization that it is a part of us that we must learn to live with. This duality is something that many can relate to, and your poem offers both solace and a sense of shared understanding. Thank you for sharing such an intimate and powerful piece. Your words have a profound impact and offer a comforting reminder that we are not alone in our experiences with grief. I look forward to reading more of your work and continuing to be moved by your profound insights and expressive language. Warm regards, Dr. Jay

  • Congrats on your top story.

  • KA Stefana 10 days ago

    So heart wrenching. Your words hold nothing back on grief's impact.

  • Caroline Craven10 days ago

    Gosh you explained the absolute misery of losing someone so well. This was excellent, but I’m so sorry for your loss. Wishing you all the very best.

  • Wow this was amazing and intense! 💫

  • Abdul Qayyum10 days ago

    Excellent. You really brought this to life

  • Rachel S10 days ago

    ouch... pain is tangable.; beautifully written

  • Margaret Brennan10 days ago

    congratulations on TS. We all know grief but you put our emotions into words that are beating with every breath. Awesome writing.

  • The pain in this poem is palpable. You describe grief viscerally and perfectly. Beautifully done poem. Congrats on the Top Story and I'm sorry for your loss.

  • Gloria Penelope10 days ago

    A pain that we all face either now or tomorrow, only God knows our fate. Your story is very touching and sad. Thanks for writing it.

  • Christy Munson10 days ago

    Just read this powerful poem on the anniversary of the day my mother's body was discovered. Equal parts horrible and perfect timing. Certainly adds even more layers to the words you've carved of bone. Congratulations on TS!

  • Kendall Defoe 10 days ago

    Grief is a monster that has haunted me since the death of my dad. Thank you for sharing this... Selah

  • Cathy holmes10 days ago

    Oh my goodness. Wonderful writing, but so, so sad. I'm sorry for your loss.

  • Anna 10 days ago

    I'm sorry for your loss...Sendign you lots of hugs, hoping, you'll get okay <3

  • Mackenzie Davis12 days ago

    Wow, I felt this. Very well written, too, I love your rhyme scheme, not so overbearing, but rhythmic. That last line is perfect; perfectly sad too. I'm so sorry for your loss.

  • angela hepworth13 days ago

    My heart is with you, Valerie. I’m deeply sorry for your loss.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.