Poets logo

Golden Memories Underneath This Tree

Memories To Be Treasured

By Carol TownendPublished 2 months ago 1 min read
4
Golden Memories Underneath This Tree
Photo by Bruno Thethe on Unsplash

A blossom tree starts as a tiny seed which grows into a baby, then a child, and finally an adult.

The tree has to be watered to grow before it blooms,

Life must fed, watered, and nurtured before it can survive.

I sit underneath this tree, bathed in sunlight gold,

Shining its rays, nurturing and warming these beautiful, golden memories

of you, so they are preserved and never grow old.

The cherry blossom smells like the cherry tarts I used to bake,

The ones you loved so well;

That smell brings back memories, treasured memories from your toddler years when you helped mummy do the baking.

The gentle breeze sways the soft, green grass surrounding me beneath this tree;

I hear you giggle while blowing bubbles, trying to catch them before they blow away and pop.

The image of a handsome, blond-haired little boy wearing blue trousers and a rainbow t-shirt comes into my mind,

I see your smile, sunny and bright, like the golden sun that lights up my memories, which lights up this tree,

bathing all my memories in gold for it is underneath this tree that you, my son, and I used to play.

These golden memories under this tree will remain with me forever,

Because these are memories to be treasured, and they will never be

forgotten.

nature poetrysocial commentarylove poemsinspirationalFree VerseFamily
4

About the Creator

Carol Townend

Fiction, Horror, Sex, Love, Mental Health, Children's fiction and more. You'll find many stories in my profile. I don't believe in sticking with one Niche! I write, but I also read a lot too.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Esala Gunathilake2 months ago

    Wow the flowers! Your words are enough to feel the aroma of flowers!

  • Alex H Mittelman 2 months ago

    I’ll never forget this poem! Fantastic job!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.