Poets logo

Going Back

If I had a time to go back to, and live the space of that time forever, I'd go right back to the time when we still had each other.

By Veronica ColdironPublished 7 months ago 1 min read
9

If I could have said them, I would have,

They were words that never graced my lips.

You see I hadn’t courage to say them but…

****************************************

I’d have cried for the person you once were,

But those were tears that never lined my cheek.

You see, I hadn’t heart to make them but…

****************************************

If I had a time to go back to,

And live the space of that time forever,

I’d go right back to the time love,

When we still had each other.

****************************************

If I had known there would come a day

When you were sad before you even woke

I’d have told you more often how I love you and…

****************************************

I’d have shared with you what I felt inside,

Though I hadn’t yet discovered the key

To help you see inside of me.

****************************************

If I had a time to go back to,

And live the space of that time forever,

I’d go right back to the time love,

When we still had each other.

****************************************

I’d take back a million things, this minute,

To keep you next to me

I’d bring the heavens crashing down,

Push back the raging sea…

To keep you next to me.

****************************************

If I had a time to go back to,

When the sunlight was on my face,

Then you and I would still be in love,

Before two strangers took our place.

****************************************

I’d give my life so you could live,

My soul be damned for you,

There’s no price too high, no cost too great.

There’s nothing I wouldn’t do…

To be there next to you.

****************************************

If I had a time to go back to,

And live the space of that time forever,

I’d go right back to the time, love,

When we still loved each other.

****************************************

This is another poem of mine that became a song. Many of them do. I'm enclosing a link to the song below. I hope you like it!

sad poetrylove poemsinspirationalart
9

About the Creator

Veronica Coldiron

I'm a mild-mannered project accountant by day, a free-spirited writer, artist, singer/songwriter the rest of the time. Let's subscribe to each other! I'm excited to be in a community of writers and I'm looking forward to making friends!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • C. Rommial Butler4 months ago

    A lovely song and poem! Hope you're well!

  • Test6 months ago

    Rather weird message but it struck me that I hadn't seen you post in a little while and just wanted to check in to see if you're OK x 🤍

  • Tiffany Gordon 6 months ago

    Amazing job Veronica! So heartfelt!

  • Babs Iverson6 months ago

    Tender and beautiful poem/lyrics!!! Love this!!!💕❤️❤️

  • The yearning here was so intense! So emotional! I loved your poem, your song and your voice! 🥰🥰🥰

  • Rachel Deeming7 months ago

    Moving and so sad, Veronica. Such regret.

  • Test7 months ago

    So touchingly beautiful x I was almost crying and then I listened to your song. Now I am x Your voice is so haunting and really brought the poignancy to life x

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.