Poets logo

Forest

As a child, I had a forest practically in my back garden. There was a specific spot in that wood that I was convinced was the most beautiful place in the whole world.

By L.C. SchäferPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 2 min read
12
Forest
Photo by Chris Whatley on Unsplash

I changed my mind! I was too hasty on the submit button.

I want to call this one...

A WOODY SUSSURRATION

Walking through the forest, hardly making any sound

Except for my heart beating and my footsteps on the ground.

Last year's leaves crunch unctiously beneath my steady tread

Sending up rich scents of leafmould from the forest's sumptious bed

The day is gently warming to kiss away spring's bite

Like the summer days before me, the path is warm and bright

A perfect day and place to walk, sun balanced to wind and shade

Or rest a while on springy turf in a secluded glade

Sunlight dappled through the leaves, I'm doused in green and gold

To my left a bluebell carpet has been expertly unrolled

Tended by a buzzing bee, collecting taxes for her queen

Scent of rain still lingers, and the air tastes fresh and clean

The tickle of the grass against my apricated skin

Not to linger languorously would be nothing short of sin

Against my cheek the gentle breath of early May's sweet sigh

Need I even tell you how flawless blue the sky?

Striking veins of pure azure in the canopy above

Serenaded by chaffinches and a nesting collared dove

If I listen hard enough, I can even hear the sound

Of tiny scurrying insects staying busy all around

Rustling leafy branches; a whispered catspaw breeze

A hungry drumming woodpecker hidden somewhere in the trees

The woody sussurration is a soft and healing balm

Something in me smiling, stilling. I'm renewed. I feel calm.

+++++++

I first wrote this poem when I was maybe nine years old. Apart from the general sentiment and the first two lines, it is a total re-write. I wish I had saved the original, but it was stained with embarrassment for me, because the headteacher read it out during assembly to the entire school. At the time, it was both the best and worst moment of my life. I have never felt so proud and yet wanted to be immediately abducted by aliens at the same time.

I still think the first two lines are the best. I was a much better poet at nine. Maybe I should never have stopped.

++++++

I've done another entry for the Sensational challenge - let me know what you think. Which is better?

nature poetry
12

About the Creator

L.C. Schäfer

Book-baby is available on Kindle Unlimited

Flexing the writing muscle

Never so naked as I am on a page. Subscribe for nudes.

Here be micros

Twitter, Insta Facey

Sometimes writes under S.E.Holz

"I've read books. Well. Chewed books."

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  4. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  5. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Donna Fox (HKB)12 months ago

    LC, this was such a great piece! I love the formatting and your vocabulary choices (unctuously and languorously, in particular). Your descriptive language was so seamless, I felt like I was walking along this forest with you! You did a fabulous job playing on the senses of the reader, making it an immersive experience! Nicely done, my friend! I love the completely relatable note form you at the end. It’s incredible that this poem evolved from something you wrote when you were so young! Really shows what a natural talent you are! Well done!

  • Antoinette L Breyabout a year ago

    I agree nothing is more calming

  • Testabout a year ago

    well, better really is in the eye of the beholder and I will avoid that, lest I become beholden. this is quite lovely. some very nice imagery and rhyme and rhythm.

  • Grz Colmabout a year ago

    A really beautiful poem! I also loved your re-write reflection at the end. 😊✨

  • Gosh, this was breathtakingly beautiful! And whoaaa you wrote this when you were nine. You're super talented and amazing!

  • ARCabout a year ago

    Goodness I love so much about this. This piece just *feels* like spring. And this space you describe.... I can see it, smell it, feel it, hear it, even taste it so clearly. Outstanding work, LC. Both you and 9-year-old you are outstanding writers 👏💙

  • Roy Stevensabout a year ago

    Beautiful and warmed me up after that snowomyn escapade of yours! 😁 Also, teachers are such idiots!

  • Brenton Fabout a year ago

    Beautiful, dreamy and a delight to read.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.