Poets logo

Ex Fulgere

I am Eclipsed

By Hannah MoorePublished 14 days ago 1 min read
13
Ex Fulgere
Photo by Aziz Acharki on Unsplash

Every time it happens, I swell a little more,

Collapsing, too, out and in, harmonic,

Lilting song of love and loss, like Janus looking forward and back.

I was greater once, and lesser too, before you emerged on a spring tide,

Proud of my strength that waning now, waxes within you,

Surpassing me, the satellite shadowing the sun,

Effulgent as I dim, and grieve, and rejoice.

Family
13

About the Creator

Hannah Moore

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • L.C. Schäfer11 days ago

    Ooh EFFULGENT! what an excellent word!

  • Novel Allen13 days ago

    I just wrote a poem that echoes how popularity and fame ebbs, flow, wanes and such the likes. This is along the same lines, new life, growth, freedom of the ones you nurtured, watching them grow and fly the coop. Happy, sad and proud we are. Lovely sentiments.

  • Paul Stewart14 days ago

    aw, Hannah, as parents we know this too well. It's part of it all...magical, happy and sad. I also love how the last line directly ties in with the title. Clever and poignant. Beautiful, Hannah!

  • Awww, this was so emotional and touching. Loved your Acrostic!

  • Joe O’Connor14 days ago

    Poignant, and feels achingly real Hannah. I really like “I was greater once, and lesser too”, and the idea of loss and love mixed. You cleverly throw in a few images with the push/pull or rise/fall idea too🤗

  • Kodah14 days ago

    Beautiful entry! Incredible work , Hannah! 💌

  • John Cox14 days ago

    When our children begin to eclipse us it’s so many things. Happy, beautiful, natural and heartbreaking. Lovely poem, Hannah!

  • Cathy holmes14 days ago

    Wow. One of my faves I've seen for the challenge. This was an incredible take. Well done.

  • Perfect punch in my parental gut.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.