Poets logo

Every Date

Dating App's Inadequacy

By A Lady with a PenPublished 12 days ago 1 min read
3
Every Date
Photo by SJ 📸 on Unsplash

Every Date

I’m your one-time girl.

A heart on her sleeve

Wishing to be a pearl

A lack of interest I perceive

But, the treatment I receive

It makes me wish women could enjoy

But still, be offered a reprieve

Rather than feel like I annoy

Every text I deploy

You take forever to respond

“stay the night” is the fantasy

But you're done, with a yawn

Awkward kiss, and I’m gone.

“Text when you get home safe.”

“No need to stay till dawn.”

“Let me know; we could do it again.”

I’m your one-time girl.

Always so naive

Hoping for the world

Wishing I’d speak up as I leave

Stream of Consciousnesssocial commentaryheartbreakFor Fun
3

About the Creator

A Lady with a Pen

Caroline Robertson's, books are beloved by both adults and children alike for their illustrations and engaging stories. She takes readers on an adventure, giving them the opportunity to explore different cultures, settings, and characters.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Manisha Dhalani11 days ago

    I liked this poem. Felt familiar. Nice going.

  • Mika Oka12 days ago

    First dates can be unnerving

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.