Poets logo

Evergreen

Ode to Mary J

By Lamar WigginsPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Evergreen
Photo by Joel Muniz on Unsplash

To my Dearest Cannabis, With Love.

Floating above myself in a Green haze of glory. I stretch my mind to produce this story.

It all started way back when, in the days of Yeltsin and Regan. Every now and again I still spend time with an old friend, who's not a pagan.

Green: The color of money, trees, plants and even eyes. Green, the color I will never despise.

Spawning creativity, if you're paying attention. Painting, writing, constructing, just a few to mention.

Medicinal, recreational, a different state of mind. All these and more are what my friend brings to mankind.

But beware, there is a limit to the benefit of joy. Taken for granted you just become a puppet, a toy.

Visions of Green nuggets dancing in my head. Maybe I'll write a book, maybe I'll go to bed.

Live freely with an open mind to the color Green, with that said, only you can decide what I really mean.

-The End, Green Friend

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Lamar Wiggins

Creative writer in the Northeast US who loves the paranormal, mystery, true crime, horror, humor, fantasy and poetry. Take a chance, you'll be thoroughly entertained.

"Life is Love Experienced" -LW

LDubs

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.