Poets logo

Eroded Paths

Poppy's Prompt #5

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished 15 days ago Updated 15 days ago 1 min read
7
Eroded Paths
Photo by Samuel Branch on Unsplash

If time would not erode

the lives that we are livin

And the wind carried the loads

of the things that we've forgiven

Could we paint us a picture

to describe where we've been

Sealed up in an envelope

and relive them again

But we must live with the fact

we all have to walk that fine line

The earth expands and contracts

until we've run out of time

Death will descend on each soul

and the scores are erased

The next one pays his own tolls

until we've all been replaced

So, what's it all for

can you explain it to me

My mom died at 84

my dad 93

And the things that they worked for

All the things that they did

So that we wouldn't want for

what they did as a kid

Like paint the wind washes

causing it to erode

Time eventually squashes it

at the end of the road

*

surreal poetryMental Healthlove poemsheartbreakFamily
7

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Shirley Belk13 days ago

    Ah, you and King Solomon both pose some very fine questions!

  • Manisha Dhalani15 days ago

    Amazing writing, Kelli. I love the line about sealing it up in an envelope.

  • Poppy 15 days ago

    This is so impactful and saddening.

  • This was so poignant and emotional. Loved your poem!

  • I think about how my husband has family that lived into their 80s, 90s and even 103. My dad died young and my mother made it to 75 and that wasn't enough!❤️My kids are doing well and I am comfortable. I am decluttering now at 70, mostly so someone else doesn't have to do it!😉

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.