Poets logo

Emptiness

A Journey Through Emptiness

By NobodyPublished about a year ago 1 min read
3

In the depths of emptiness,

I find myself waiting.

A page turns, and the couch no longer

holds me captive, eyes heavy,

resting against the pillows, lost in reflection,

as thoughts swarm like bees, drawing nearer,

before fading into the realm of slumber.

If I could write while driving, or write while walking,

the words would dance with rhythm.

They would weave meaning, instead of echoing woe, woe, woe,

loneliness, an empty cave,

regret, a burden of rocks suspended above me by ropes,

heaviness descending,

this life, these choices, oh no, no.

Yet here I am, seeking an escape.

Running toward an unknown path, unsure if the place left behind

is any different from where I'm heading.

Something slips away from me. Something grows within.

Gears and wheels turn, leading to... what?

Leading to an island of solitude, where I am the sole inhabitant,

lifting the tarp to dust off forgotten memories.

Drawing back the edges, leaning forward with a sigh,

gazing into chasms filled with webs and dreams frozen in time.

heartbreak
3

About the Creator

Nobody

Help fund my friend’s eye treatment to bring colour back into his world. Even $1 can make a significant difference.

https://ko-fi.com/dreamer9

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Gal Muxabout a year ago

    Oh, this is wonderful and very well done. I can feel the words... If it is a diary entry, I'm sending hugs 🤗.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.