Poets logo

drown

a poem about healing and finding your voice again after abuse

By R.C. TaylorPublished 5 months ago Updated 5 months ago 1 min read
3
drown
Photo by NASA on Unsplash

with the deluge way my ancestors shout

i’m Jonah swallowed by the big fish and i’m scared

when i finally open my mouth a sea will swell out.

words a ground-shaking geyser spout

that followed Big Dipper and stripped the moon bared

with the deluge way my ancestors shout.

heart a ribcaged hummingbird and voice burnt out

crying the stars in the sky and i’m scared

when i finally open my mouth a sea will swell out

no matter how they ravage Mother Earth, she’s all about.

give it to her. holding it within is a poison; release, share

with the deluge way my ancestors shout

spirit rekindling like fire, strength comes in bouts

cupped hands around a flame, blown by gentle breath—aired

when i finally open my mouth a sea will swell out

And you, who tore me to nothingness and doubt,

baptized me with miasma, to you I dare

with the deluge way my ancestors shout

when I finally open my mouth a sea will swell out

Inspired by my poem:

Villanellesurreal poetryslam poetrynature poetryMental Healthinspirationalheartbreak
3

About the Creator

R.C. Taylor

Part-time daydreamer. Full-time dork.

Follow along for stories about a little bit of everything (i.e. adventure, nostalgia, and other affairs of the heart, and anything else I want to honor and hold space for).

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Flamance @ lit.28 days ago

    Great job congratulations

  • Nice work and good challenge entry

  • I loved how you compared the heart to a ribcaged hummingbird. Your Villanelle was so poignant and emotional!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.