Poets logo

Dreams Huh?

i tell myself it's not just me

By Brenton FPublished 17 days ago 1 min read
5
image by NightCafe

i heard a song

i didn't like

but the radio

wasn’t on

i heard a song

i didn't like

it wasn’t on the tele

it was all in my head

i heard a song

i didn't like

playing somewhere

between my ears, behind my eyes

i heard a song

i didn't like

above beside and beyond

all the other noises

i heard a song

i didn't like

echo through my head

oblivious to any choice of thought i made

i heard a song

i didn't like

i could not make it stop

it was not answerable to me

i heard a song

i didn't like

and it’s been going on

for days and days and days

it wasn't the whole song

it was two different parts

over and over and over again

a bit of the chorus

the start of the solo

and then when i thought

it wasn't

it was

and then when i thought

it stopped

it didn't

on and on and on...

i like Van Halen

don't get me wrong

but not Sammy Hagar

and not this fuckin song

i try to think of another tune

and still i get ear reamed by Dreams

i get it, yeah i know what they're made of

but that won't abate the inevitable screams

it’s on a whiny endless loop real

a relentless drill bit in my brain

biting hair skin flesh and bone

yet numbed from any pain

i don't know how to make it stop

i don t know who to tell

i have no quiet left inside

groundhog day guitar solo hell

this particular piece of top 40 cherry arse

is starting to make me squirm

not even My Sharona on that sweet red vinyl

could rid me of this ear worm

social commentary
5

About the Creator

Brenton F

It's just a token of my extreme - Frank Zappa

- - -

I have an eBook, a collection of my favourite pieces

Link to Amazon

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.