Poets logo

Dragonfly Day

Kameigha's Wish

By C. H. RichardPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
40
Dragonfly Day
Photo by Clément Falize on Unsplash

There is this day

I have wished for

When I disappear

To roam

To breath the air

To feel the wind

To settle my soul

There is this day

I have hoped for

Where the world

Would surrender

All the pain

All the heartache

Where peace may prevail

And serenity lets us see

That we are here

To love

And to be loved

There is this day

I long to know

Where I can wander

Without fear or sorrow

To sense

Life as it could be

Always with compassion

Always time for understanding

Always true to honesty

Dragonfly Day

I hope someday will be

This poem was inspired by a prompt from Vocal Writing Prompts Facebook group to use a dragon in a poem

This poem is included in the beginning of Chapter 2 of my novel, “Leaving The Kingdom of Dolion”.

Here is chapter 1 if you would like to read

inspirational
40

About the Creator

C. H. Richard

My passion is and has always been writing. I am particularly drawn to writing fiction that has relatable storylines which hopefully keep readers engaged

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (32)

Sign in to comment
  • Rachel Deeming5 months ago

    If only...

  • You weave these words beautifully. Well done. I need to check out the bigger project.

  • Poppy 11 months ago

    Lovely poem, I think we all think about that day

  • The Invisible Writerabout a year ago

    Loved this poem looking forward to checking out your novel

  • Kristen Balyeatabout a year ago

    This was absolutely gorgeous! Beautiful flow and wonderfully captivating visual! Also, I absolutely love dragonflies!

  • Novel Allenabout a year ago

    Very lovely.

  • Stephen Kramer Avitabileabout a year ago

    Love this! That sounds like a beautiful day!

  • Moe Radosevichabout a year ago

    I really like this, I write a lot about nature, beautiful 👍

  • Nicely written. I can feel the serenity of nature through your words.

  • Dana Stewart2 years ago

    Lovely sentiment. Well done!

  • Brittany Miller2 years ago

    I've slowly been getting back into reading poetry, and much of what I read is here on Vocal. And this one is well done, enchanting, and so easy to follow. The shorter lines make it easier for me to read, and I really like that. And I really like dragonflies, so that was a nice addition. :)

  • The Dani Writer2 years ago

    Great work and eyecatching as well!

  • Heather Hubler2 years ago

    That was so beautiful and full of hope. I loved it!

  • Beautiful!

  • Beautiful words , love this

  • Penny Fuller2 years ago

    I like the brevity of your lines- the structure is really compelling. This is lovely and so full of hope!

  • Heather Hubler2 years ago

    This was amazing! Loved it! I especially liked the form :)

  • Bri Craig2 years ago

    Loved this! Especially how your use of short lines gives an almost staccato effect to your words!

  • Lena Folkert2 years ago

    This is so stunning! I am wrapped up in these words! <3

  • Call Me Les2 years ago

    Beautiful. I could picture myself in those feelings. Well done! <3

  • I was totally immersed in the words. Thank you!

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    love this one

  • Sarah G.2 years ago

    Lovely pacing, very steady

  • Mariann Carroll2 years ago

    😍love it

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.