Poets logo

Disconnected

Poetic thoughts of the day in this Bank Holiday.

By Chloe GilholyPublished 21 days ago 1 min read
7
Disconnected
Photo by Andrew Neel on Unsplash

Searching for the right tribes in thick clouds that block light

Getting lost on a one-way street with toxic fog and foul fumes

that only I can feel, shaking, desperate for a way out.

*

Passion pours about this global number-one bestseller

But I can't connect to the characters like I know I can and should

It's a collection of tropes and buzzwords masked as feminism.

*

My body aches and shakes, my soul even more so

Yet my mind is determined to keep on climbing.

Don't let anyone down.

*

Alone with the masses, premade roads don't suit me.

I made my own, it's not perfect but it's one where

robins hop over daisies and stones.

*

Breathing in and breathing out right till the end,

Staring back at me is a mystic queen staring back at me...

Some people say she's me.

social commentarynature poetryMental HealthFree Verse
7

About the Creator

Chloe Gilholy

Former healthcare worker and lab worker from Oxfordshire. Author of ten books including Drinking Poetry and Game of Mass Destruction. Travelled to over 20 countries.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Esala Gunathilake21 days ago

    Wow I can't say how greatly I felt it. Keep up writing such wonderful ones.

  • This was extremely powerful and very beautifully written! Loved your poem!

  • You put a lot of your emotions into this one. I can feel your inner thoughts with your words. Great work!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.