Poets logo

Didn’t Know

Bipolar

By Rowan Finley Published about a month ago 1 min read
4

They make me feel…

Insecure, angry, inadequate, on edge, like they’re going to throw me under the bus any second, shameful, sad, pathetic and so many other things I should not write here.

So what did I do in response?

I bought them red roses, wrote them sweet notes, sang them songs, bought them necklaces, helped them pursue their goals, told them they were beautiful, encouraged them to be successful, prayed for them, helped them seek their degrees, told them they were enough, that they could do it and I offered to sacrifice everything I had for them.

Deep in my heart, they still scared the shit out of me in every way and I just didn’t know how to change that.

Mental Health
4

About the Creator

Rowan Finley

Father. Academic Advisor. Musician. Writer. Aspiring licensed mental health counselor. My real name is Jesse Balogh.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Archery Owlabout a month ago

    Exactly. Well done.

  • Colleen Waltersabout a month ago

    Isaiah 43:19 “Behold, I am doing a new thing; now it springs forth, do you not perceive it? I will make a way in the wilderness and rivers in the desert.“

  • Esala Gunathilakeabout a month ago

    Great one.

  • Alex H Mittelman about a month ago

    Fantastic poem! 😎

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.