Poets logo

Dear Mother

I know we don't see eye to eye on much...

By Michelle Truman | Prose and Puns | Noyath BooksPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
3

Dear Mother,

I know we don't see eye-to-eye on much

but I vividly remember

when we were in better touch.

Do you know when things got messy?

Was it one decade or two

before the spell of youth was broken

and I just saw you for you?

The dam broke; words came spilling out.

We couldn't take them back.

The shift was sudden, visceral,

like a violent attack.

In that moment, walls were built.

They still stand to this day

and I don't think they'll ever fall.

I just wanted to say

I know you did the best you could,

but the effort still fell flat

and I can't seem to let it go.

We will have to live with that

but I can't forgive you yet.

I don't even know if I am able

to heal from the venom dripped

for years at that kitchen table.

Signed, your daughter, the freak.

The imposter, the liar, the sheep.

The fat disappointing failure

and the secret that you keep.

slam poetry
3

About the Creator

Michelle Truman | Prose and Puns | Noyath Books

I fell in love with speculative fiction and poetry many years ago, but I have precious little time to write any. It was high time I started making Prose and Puns a priority, starting with Purple Poetry, Auqredis, and the World of Noyath.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • HandsomelouiiThePoet (Lonzo ward)about a year ago

    Nice one✨💖😉

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.