Poets logo

Dead Inside

There's No Light

By Cezanne LibellenPublished 10 months ago β€’ 1 min read
8
Dead Inside
Photo by Jilbert Ebrahimi on Unsplash

I'm dead inside

Can't find the light

Why don't we have good luck?

What we have seems to suck.

...

I have no life

It's parched and dry

I don't know how to patch

My heart, Tisn't a scratch.

...

What can replace

That loving face

They offered a refund

Nothing can fill my numb.

...

Before, deserved

Now, really hurts

Hurts more than the last time

My sight is clogged with grime.

...

Thorns wrapped around

My heart's great wounds

I can't bury my grief

Although our time was brief.

...

Nothing can heal or console

My smashed, broken heart and soul.

...

So, you will know if you read Shelter Dog parts one and two, that we had to get rid of one dog because he turned aggressive, and we just got a new puppy for 13,000 dollars.

Well, we were overjoyed, looking forward to our new "doggy chapter."

So, then it turns out... he has a heart murmur.

We are devastated, but fortunately, the owner was very understanding and offered to take him back.

So we are going to have to say goodbye to our puppy.

Why do we have to learn everything the hard way?

Such as, with Gunner, our last dog, that shelter dogs come with a lot of emotional baggage that the novice owner cannot handle.

Or that we should probably get our puppy checked by the vet before we fall in love with it.

It hurts... but he cost 13,000 dollars and will probably die in the next six months. So (this is going to sound brutal) if we are going to spend that much money on a puppy, then we might as well get a healthy puppy.

I've been crying this entire afternoon when I found out, but there's nothing I can do.

Life is life. That's the way it is.

heartbreaksad poetry
8

About the Creator

Cezanne Libellen

I am an ailurophile, xocolatophile, linguaphile, lexophile, and a bibliophile. Writing is my passion. I am currently working on a novel. Subscribe and share my stories if you want to see more of my work!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  5. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Jordan Sky Daniels10 months ago

    Aww my heart broke I know that pain

  • Jazzy 10 months ago

    Im sorry about your puppy! That is sad! πŸ₯Ί

  • Ian Read10 months ago

    Brutal and passionate verse. I know we discussed it in your other article, but I am sorry this happened. πŸ˜€

  • Donna Fox (HKB)10 months ago

    This was such a beautiful and passionate poem Cezanne! I am so sorry about your puppy, thank you for sharing the meaning of this piece to you in your authors note! Being a pet owner is so hard sometimes and I am so sorry you're having a rough time in that regard! I can relate to this poem and your story so much!!! Know that my heart goes out to you and you will be in my thoughts! πŸ’–

  • Donna Renee10 months ago

    Sorry about the puppy :( that’s really sad!

  • Cendrine Marrouat10 months ago

    $13,000 for a puppy? How on earth?? My heart breaks every time I lose a pet. Last year, we had to let go of one after 3 weeks. He was very young and had heart issues. We had to have him put down as a result. I am really sorry you have to get rid of the puppy.

  • Doc Sherwood10 months ago

    I do hope it'll be third time lucky, Cezanne. We lost our cat Nettie when I was something like 11, and I cried for a day. She was only a year and a half. She'd had a happy kittenhood though, and that has never left me. When people ask me why I used to gift-wrap the student prizes at my Art Club (or for that matter why I gave student prizes at all) I would tell them it was because of my memory of Nettie, knocking a big woolly pom-pom around the living-room floor when she was young. I just want everyone who was ever young to have had that. Nettie was however survived by her daughter Bella for many years! The puppy is out there waiting for you who'll grow up to be a faithful family dog. You'll find him!

  • Oh no, I'm so sorry you have to say goodbye to this puppy πŸ₯Ί Hope you get a healthy one next and get to keep him. Oh and yes, I remember Gunner!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.