Poets logo

dark

(room)

By Sara Published 19 days ago 1 min read
12

without my words you are an empty sky.

i colored your eyes

with pools of ink

and circled your lips

with stars.

i made your hands into heaven.

now they are just hands.

i bathed your heart in sunshine

so the rays could warm me

but i came to claim light.

i grew like petals around you

until you let me wither

and now you are

faltering stems.

my delusion fed your grandeur

but it was my delusion,

not your grandeur.

my words were the magic

and hindsight

saturated your image

in monochrome.

i developed it in the dark room

and hung it on the line

to dry.

(you were right.

it’s not you.

it’s me.)

art
12

About the Creator

Sara

Don’t look for love.

Be love.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran18 days ago

    Gosh that hit me so hard. Loved your poem!

  • The creativity in this is out of this world. I was going to highlight a line I liked but they were all too impactful to choose. Beautiful word choice and style!

  • Zakari Runge19 days ago

    You're so incredibly talented! Well done!!

  • TheSpinstress19 days ago

    This is incredible. "I made your hands into heaven, now they are just hands." Completely relatable.

  • angela hepworth19 days ago

    Wow, so vivid! Amazing writing.

  • Heather Hubler19 days ago

    Oh this was wonderfully thoughtful, your imagery worked so well with the tone. And I loved those last lines!

  • Manisha Dhalani19 days ago

    Sara, this is some amazing writing. I loved the pacing and the image you painted. Well done.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.