Poets logo

🎵Daddy's Song...🎵(Fictional Poetry)

~Ask Me In December, Bab's Unofficial Challenge~

By Tiffany Gordon Published 16 days ago Updated 16 days ago 1 min read
20
🎵Daddy's Song...🎵(Fictional Poetry)
Photo by Michael Maasen on Unsplash

As I lie on the canvas, bloodied and bruised from my opponent, my favorite childhood song, "Ask Me in December," beckons to me from the old victrola in the corner of my heart, telling me to get up and duel once more. It's lyrics immediately breathe renewed hope and life into my spirit while successfully ignoring my pleas to retreat into the corner so that I may tend to my broken heart and badly rug-burned praying-knees.

I hadn't thought of dad's song in nearly fifteen years, but remembering the powerful lyrics of the song instantly strengthened my resolve.

My Daddy wrote the song for me many moons ago when I was a preteen who was feeling blue. 

Today, my friend, let me share it with you. It empowered me when I remembered it. It just may make you feel better too!

🎶Ask Me In December🎶

Get up, Tiff. It's time to stir the pot!

Get up, Tiff, and fight for all who cannot!

Get up, Tiff. Give it all you've got!

Suit up in your warmest winter gear!

Suit up; your victory over life's wintertime blues is near!

Get up!

Get up!

Get up!

Life might feel ice cold right now, but remember, July is coming!

Ask me in December if I won the fight!

Yes! I sure did! By years end, God made things right!

 

 

 

 

 

inspirational
20

About the Creator

Tiffany Gordon

I am a super-spiritual, fun-loving artist, writer, & peer-counselor residing in the Pacific Northwest. I am also an Institute of Children's Literature alumna who enjoys writing about the triumph of the human spirit.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (21)

Sign in to comment
  • Real Poetic3 days ago

    Very inspirational Tiffany! I love love love the song. Thanks for sharing it with us!

  • Hannah Moore6 days ago

    Oh, you need this poem where you'll see if every day.

  • TheSpinstress8 days ago

    So lovely and uplifting! 😊

  • Natasha Collazo9 days ago

    LOVE

  • The Dani Writer11 days ago

    That song...such a winner! Uplifting!

  • Ali SP11 days ago

    I can’t imagine what you’re feeling Tiffany but I loved your beautiful take on the challenge. ❤️

  • Well-wrought! Many blessings and much love!

  • Gina C.13 days ago

    This is beautifully composed and so inspiring, Tiffany! 🤗❤️ I found the first part to be especially moving 🥹

  • Heather Hubler13 days ago

    Wonderfully inspiring :) You always shine a light.

  • I love this Tiffany. Your heart went into it. Thank you for such an uplifting piece.

  • Wow! Love it! Thank you!❤️

  • Cathy holmes14 days ago

    This is so inspiring. Well done.

  • Grz Colm15 days ago

    What a wonderful message and entry Tiffany! ☺️👏 I hope you are going well. Loved the magic of this one! Best!

  • Novel Allen15 days ago

    This seems so real, EVERYONE missed the huge fictional poetry bit. Now i am confused if daddy wrote some and fictional wrote some. Either way...the message is sorely needed. Thanks for that.

  • Lamar Wiggins16 days ago

    And now Daddies song will live forever. Remembering times like the one you just shared is priceless. Not everyone can say that their father wrote them a song to help them feel better. Triple thanks for sharing. 💖

  • Mariann Carroll16 days ago

    Love it🥰 Is this a tribute to your Dad? May he rest in peace 🙏🏽♥️ Would this be his message to you? So you can keep on spreading your gift of light ? Sounds about what a lyric from a Dad who sees his child’s gift not go to waste. Sending comforting hugs, Tiffany 🤗🥰

  • Awww, those lyrics made me smile! It was so optimistic and uplifting!

  • Shirley Belk16 days ago

    How wonderful to have those moments and encouragement in your life!

  • "Yes! I sure did! By years end, God made things right!" Just wow!

  • Babs Iverson16 days ago

    Awesome!! Loving your inspirationa lyrics/song!!!💕❤️❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.