Poets logo

Coming To My Senses

Anyway

By Sav MapPublished 12 months ago 1 min read
Finalist in 2023 Vocal Writing Awards - Free Verse Poetry
6
Coming To My Senses
Photo by Eyestetix Studio on Unsplash

An itch below my left shoulder blade means I have something that needs expressing.

That's my signal, anyway.

As if a trapped insect is burrowing down underneath my epidermis.

A taste of metal in my mouth means the person I am speaking with is addicted.

We are our addictions, anyway.

Like the aftertaste of rice cooked in a new copper pot.

The sound of bells in my eardrums, even though there is silence, means to pay attention.

To be alert, anyway.

The clangs are brassy and cloying and often right before a fawn bolts across two lanes.

A sudden waft of roses means the spirit world is knocking on my door.

And I must stop and listen, anyway.

Arresting in its simplicity and clarity, it is the scent of a distilled essence.

A warm yellow glow around a companion means they are coming from a good place.

And I can trust them, anyway.

Natural and unexpected, but not blinding or even surprising.

A vacant darkness in someone's eyes means they are in pain.

Anyway.

how tolistfact or fiction
6

About the Creator

Sav Map

Stories I find, or they find me.

Contact me on X

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Rachel Deeming2 months ago

    This is simply wrought and yet has an otherworldliness to it that transcends its simplicity. Or maybe I'm reading too much into it but there's no denying the feeling.

  • What a fantastic poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.