Poets logo

Choosing Me

Above All Else

By Angel AdagioPublished 28 days ago 1 min read
4

I have always been the princess locked away in the tower, guarded by a fire breathing dragon, and waiting for my hero to come rescue me,

and we'd live happily ever after.

The ones who I thought would rescue me, turned out to be the dragon misleading me and reminding me that I am trapped and alone.

I counted the days, the nights, and the tears shed while waiting.

In hoping someone would find me, I lost me.

So, I built a suit of armor from the past attempts of rescue and fitted myself a sword and shield,

I slayed the dragon and ran off to find my happy ending.

I chose me, more than anyone else ever would.

fact or fictioninspirational
4

About the Creator

Angel Adagio

Thank you for taking the time to read some of my work. It may not be perfect, but it's real. I hope you'll stay a while.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Kay Husnick27 days ago

    I love how you used this fairytale trope!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.