Poets logo

Chilhood Tree

nostalgia

By Rachel SPublished 15 days ago 1 min read
1
Chilhood Tree
Photo by Jeroen den Otter on Unsplash

Oh, my childhood tree

whose branches call out in vain

whose leaves be manipulated in winds

whose bark be drowned in rain

whose years of age have taken toll

whose colors have faded

whose image has been granted love

yet through the years has been hated

whose true beauty is hard to uncover

for it is concealed beneath layers of moss

yet who does not need to prove to rise

for it knows that it is boss

Oh, my beautiful childhood tree

now that your back is hunched

it is as if my heart is small

as if my gut has been punched

for you are witness to all I laughed

you saw every time I cried

and on all the naughty things I did

you had so silently spied

I remember your blossoms in the spring

oh, how beautifully they grew

and in the Fall your leaves would wave

in consistent waves that blew

you oh, so gently held my limbs

when I mischievously began to climb

and when I fell you scraped my knees

but I rushed to forgive your decline

and as I grew to be a man

you were engraved in my heart

and in my mind you conquered space

you had searched yet to find

Oh, my glorious childhood tree

on the day that you will die

I will collect all those memories

before I say goodbye

for you will not be there to evoke them again

you will not be there to store

you will not be there as my sage

you will not be there anymore

and as your branches will lye there, still

I will remember all those days

that you caused me to laugh, to cry

and it will all blend in haze

and I will tell you, childhood tree

that although you have fallen

I wont forget that you once held

the memories that are callin'

and you will die and fade away

and I will stay right here

and I will treasure the layers of moss

you had collected year by year.

FamilyFor Fun
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • T. Licht11 days ago

    Hey! Hey your things are really really good! Good Luck. Can't wait to see more!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.